The Very Revd Dr Andreas Loewe FRHistS CStJ

Work History

Dean of Melbourne, St Paul’s Cathedral, Anglican Diocese of Melbourne (2012 to date)                    

Gavan Senior Lecturer in Theology, Trinity College Theological School, The University of Divinity (2010-2012)

Associate Vicar, Great St Mary’s, The University Church, Cambridge and Chaplain, Michaelhouse, Anglican Diocese of Ely (2004-2009)

Senior Member, Faculty of Divinity, Cambridge University (2004-2009)

Assistant Curate, Upton-cum-Chalvey, Anglican Diocese of Oxford (2001-2004)


Visiting Bye-Fellow, Selwyn College, Cambridge University (2019)

Rex J. Lipman Fellow: St Peter’s College, Adelaide (2012)

 Fellow: Royal Historical Society UK (2011 to date)

Service and Governance

Anglican Church and Ecumenical Bodies

Member of Council of the Anglican Diocese of Melbourne (2012 to date)

Member of Chapter, St Paul’s Cathedral Melbourne (2012 to date)

Trustee, Melbourne Anglican Trust Corporation (2012 to date)

Non-executive Director, The Melbourne Anglican Foundation (2012-2015)

Commissioner, National Council of Churches in Australia Faith and Unity Commission (2010-2012)

Board Member, Council for Chaplains in Tertiary Education, Victoria: accrediting body for all Victorian Higher Education Chaplains (2009-2012)

Member of Synod, Anglican Diocese of Melbourne (2009 to date)

Member of Synod, Anglican Diocese of Ely UK (2006-2009)

Secondary and Higher Education

Member of Council, Melbourne Girls’ Grammar School (2012-2018)

Member of Senatus, United Faculty of Theology, The University of Divinity (2011-2012)

Member of Council, The University of Divinity, Australia (2010-2018)

Member of Council, Trinity College, The University of Melbourne (2009-2012)

Community Organisations

Chair of Trustees, St Paul’s Cathedral Music Foundation (2012 to date)

Member, Relationship Matters, Victoria: Counselling and Mediation (2014 to date)

Board Member, Society for Dialogue and Action: a Cambridge University-based interfaith dialogue forum and educational trust (2005-2009)

Board Member, The Michaelhouse Centre Cambridge (2004-2009)

Chair of Board, Art beyond Belief, an Arts Council UK-funded interfaith arts provider (2004-2009)